Edge Communication© | pr | sponsorship | events

pr tourism
pr music
pr finance
MUSIC PUBLIC RELATIONS : Levi's® Flat Eric 1999

Briefing
For the launch of its Sta-Prest collection, Levi's® made a series of video clips in which a funny little yellow plush, named Flat Eric, starred. A young French DJ, unknown at the time, had provided the music for the clips: his name was Quentin Dupieux aka Monsieur Oizo. The star of these publicity spots had to become the star of the year 1999 for the target group.

Strategy / Concept
The goal was to try to get the music of the video clip as high as possible in the dance music hit parade. Together with Levi's® Benelux, Aptitudes worked out an action plan for Belgium.

First phase: creating hype around Flat Eric. Aptitudes invites three Belgian media outlets which share the 16-24 target group (Out Soon, Pulp and Plastiks) to London to discover - in première - the new Levi's® video clip, in order to get acquainted with Flat Eric two months before he is to be seen on European screens. A Digital PR campaign (or e-mail or viral marketing) towards 30 personalities (journalists, fashion designers, VIP's) is put in place. Communication: a teaser in the form of a URL, which leads to a secret Flat Eric website...
Parallel with this, then original, promotion activity (we're at the beginning of 1999), Aptitudes also collaborates with the record company of Monsieur Oizo, to inform radio producers, DJ's and other influential people in the Belgian music business, in order to create the hype around the little yellow plush which is the representation of the Sta-Prest Levi's® clothing line. .

People start talking about it, they hear it on the radio, there are press articles... the rumour spreads and grows. After the clip has been shown on the Belgian and foreign television stations, Aptitudes goes on spreading the information about the link between Flat Eric and Levi's® to all of the Belgian media channels: press, TV, radio, internet, special internet site and the Digital PR campaign.

Result
The music of Monsieur Oizo's Flat Eric clip reaches the August 1999 dance music hit parade's number 1. More than a hundred articles about Flat Eric have appeared in the Belgian press. In a couple of months Monsieur Oizo became a star, and the Sta-Prest Levi's® sales have surpassed the most optimistic expectations.

Edge Communication© | rp | sponsoring | événements

RP tourisme
RP musique
RP finance
RELATIONS PUBLIQUES MUSIQUE : Levi's® Flat Eric 1999

Briefing
Pour le lancement de sa collection de vêtements Sta-Prest, Levi's® a conçu une série de clips publicitaires dont le héros était une petite peluche jaune, espiègle et rigolote, dénommée Flat Eric. La musique des clips a été créée par un jeune DJ français inconnu à l'époque : Quentin Dupieux, alias Monsieur Oizo. Le héros de ce spot publicitaire Levi's® devait devenir la star de l'année 1999 auprès du public ciblé.

Stratégie / Concept
L'objectif étant de faire de la musique du clip publicitaire un disque classé le plus haut possible dans le hit parade dance music, Aptitudes en accord avec Levi's® Benelux a développé un plan d'action adapté pour la Belgique.

Première phase: créer la rumeur autour de Flat Eric. Aptitudes invite trois média belges influents auprès de la cible 16-24 ans branchés (OutSoon, Pulp et Plastiks) à Londres pour découvrir - en avant-première - le nouveau clip publicitaire de Levi's®, histoire de faire connaissance avec la autre Flat Eric deux mois avant son lancement sur les écrans et dans les lucarnes européennes.
Une opération Digital PR (ou e-mail ou viral marketing) est organisée vers une sélection de 30 personnalités (journalistes, stylistes, VIP's). Communication : un teaser sous forme d'URL, renvoyant à un site internet secret Flat Eric ...
Parallèlement à cette action originale pour l'époque (début 1999), Aptitudes travaille avec la firme de disque de Monsieur Oizo pour informer les programmateurs radio, les DJ's et autres personnes influentes dans le domaine de la musique jeunes en Belgique pour créer le hype autour de la petite peluche jaune qui vante les mérites des vêtements Sta-Prest de Levi's®.

Bouche à oreille, séquences radio, articles de presse, etc... la rumeur va en s'amplifiant. A la suite de la diffusion sur les écrans de télévisions belges et étrangers de la campagne de pub, Aptitudes continue à diffuser l'information (le lien entre Flat Eric et Levi's®) à travers tous les médias belges : presse écrite, TV, radio, internet, site internet spécial et opération de digital P.R.

Résultat
La musique du clip Flat Eric de Monsieur Oizo est classée au n°1 au hit-parade dance en août 1999. Plus d'une centaine d'articles sur Flat Eric ont fleuri dans la presse belge. Monsieur Oizo est devenu une star en l'espace de quelques mois. Et les ventes de Sta-Prest Levi's® ont dépassé les objectifs les plus optimistes.