Edge Communication© | pr | sponsorship | events
Axe, a product of Lever Fabergé Belgium (division of Unilever), is the deodorant with the highest market share in the 16-24 years group in Belgium.

Axe 2001
Levi's © 2000
Levi's © 1999
The Edge Communication© part of Axe Gravity communication plan presents an innovative, original and appropriate mixture for its target group.

Show Edge Communication© for Axe Gravity 2001.

Briefing
Though the market leader, Axe realises that it only reaches a part of its target group and wishes to present itself to the whole of sub-target groups in different ways. It feels the need to be increasingly innovative so it can constantly surprise.
While confirming Axe's image as a seducers' brand, the target is to humorously, originally and pertinently launch Gravity, the new Axe fragrance.

Strategy / Concept
In order to attain an effective impact on the different young tribes through their interest fields, Aptitudes proposes anEdge Communication© program that is entirely designed and customized for Axe.

The whole campaign is based on the first "seduction card game": the 54 original cards of the Axe Seduction Game each presenting a solution to complete the Axe effect. This way Axe confirms its position as a professional seducer, while preserving its sense of humour and masculinity. A selection of media partners, all participating in one way or another in the creation or the distribution of the game, helps to create the hype.

Axe wanted to establish its credibility by organizing a new kind of event. A high quality, artistic tour co-produced by Out Soon magazine and the French troupe Art point M. Young people all over Belgium loved it; At the end of the tour, in July 2001 Zero Gravity Ax'perience was organized in London.

TheEdge Communication© program also includes Axe's presence as a co-sponsor in other events for other sub-target groups. The agency selects these events, in full agreement with the client.

Aptitudes completes the programme with its media communication: the indy press as well as the mainstream and professional magazines (media, marketing) relay the information about the Gravity Ax'perience events and the Axe Seduction Game. In exchange for invitations to the events or for card games their readers can win, certain media also help promoting the product by offering space in their magazines.

Realization
presenting the new Gravity fragrance in a subtle way, the editorial productions add the gravity theme to the traditional Axe values: sense of humour and seduction.

As a nice souvenir of the editorial productions, we can recall the 54 cards of the Axe Seduction Game all of which contain ideas on and thoughts about seduction. They are meant to give someone food for thought, and their beauty makes people want to collect them as if they were works of art. Aptitudes works with graphic designers and artists who all put their sensitivity and their feelings about seduction in their work: each card has a different image in front, and on the back you can read a piece of advice, a proverb, or a funny thought. Each card is meant to be an original tool for the young seducer (M/F), a short message to help him or her at the occasion of their first contact, which might even make things easier, and which is kept afterwards. By the end of April 2001 the first 24 cards of the Axe seduction Game were distributed as individual cards in a rather exclusive way, and later, from May on, even more exclusively, as a complete card game.

On the web as well, each card of the seduction game can be sent as an e-card. Therefore you can find an e-seduction game on www.axe.be. The events and other surprises can be discovered in the Axe Gravity section of www.axe.be.

Edge Communication© | rp | sponsoring | événements
Le produit Axe de Lever Fabergé Belgium, division d'Unilever, est le déodorant leader du marché en Belgique auprès des 16-24 ans.

Axe 2001
Levi's © 2000
Levi's © 1999
La partie Edge Communication© du plan de communication de Axe en 2001 propose un mix innovant, original et pertinent pour sa cible.

Show Edge Communication© for Axe Gravity 2001.

Briefing
Bien que leader sur son marché, Axe réalise qu'il n'atteint qu'une partie de sa cible et souhaite s'adresser à l'ensemble des sous-cibles de manière différenciée. Il y a nécessité d'être sans cesse plus innovant pour créer la surprise.

Tout en confirmant l'image de Axe comme le professionnel de la drague et de la séduction, l'objectif est de lancer la nouvelle fragrance Axe de l'année 2001 (Gravity) avec humour, originalité et pertinence.

Stratégie / Concept
Afin d'obtenir un impact efficace sur les différentes tribus jeunes via leurs centres d'intérêts, Aptitudes propose un programme Edge Communication© entièrement conçu et customisé pour Axe.

Comme fil rouge du programme, le premier "jeu de cartes de la séduction" est lancé : les 54 cartes originales du Axe Seduction Game présentent chacune une solution pour compléter l'effet Axe. Ainsi Axe conforte son statut de professionnel de la séduction... tout en conservant son humour et sa masculinité. En participant, d'une manière ou d'une autre, à la création et à la diffusion du jeu, une sélection de partenaires médias contribuent à créer le hype autour du Axe Seduction Game.

Axe souhaitait de nouvelles expériences événementielles pour affirmer sa crédibilité. En confiant au magazine OutSoon et à la compagnie Art point M (Roubaix) la coproduction de la tournée Gravity Ax'perience en Belgique, Aptitudes assure à son client Axe la précision de la cible et de la qualité du contenu artistique des expériences individuelles proposées aux jeunes. Une tournée que Axe ponctue, au niveau international, par un méga-événement musical et exclusif, la Zero Gravity Ax'perience, à Londres en juillet 2001.

Le programme Edge Communication© comprend également une présence de Axe en co-sponsoring sur d'autres événements, pour d'autres sous-cibles. La sélection de ces events se fait par l'agence, en accord avec le client.

Aptitudes complète le programme avec la communication médias : toute la presse jeunes ainsi que la presse grand public et professionnelle (médias, marketing) relaient l'information tant des événements Gravity Ax'perience que du Axe Seduction Game. En échange d'invitations aux events ou de jeux de cartes à gagner pour leurs lecteurs, certains médias aident également à la promotion en offrant de l'espace.

Réalisation
En présentant de manière subtile la nouvelle fragrance Gravity, les productions éditoriales ajoutent le thème de la gravité aux valeurs traditionnelles de Axe : humour et séduction.

Recueil-souvenir des productions éditoriales, les 54 cartes du Axe Seduction Game sont autant d'idées et de pensées sur la séduction, qui donnent à réfléchir et qui, par leur beauté visuelle et leur originalité, donnent envie d'être collectionnées comme des oeuvres d'art. Aptitudes fait appel à des graphistes et des artistes, qui apportent chacun leur sensibilité et leur interprétation de la séduction : chaque carte comporte au recto un visuel original et différent pour chaque carte, et au verso un conseil, un proverbe, une réflexion humoristique. La carte se présente comme un outil original pour le jeune séducteur, un message qui facilite le premier contact, voire qui aide à se sortir de situations délicates, ou se garde pour soi. Fin avril 2001, les 24 premières cartes du Axe Seduction Game sont diffusées de manière assez exclusive, sous forme de cartes individuelles et, dès le mois de mai, de manière encore plus exclusive sous forme de jeu de cartes complet.

Sur le web également, chaque carte du jeu de la séduction peut être diffusée sous forme de e-card puisque le site www.axe.be accueille un e-seduction game. Les events et d'autres surprises sont à découvrir dans la partie Axe Gravity du site www.axe.be.